book General Fiction

The Countess of Lowndes Square, and Other Stories

The Countess of Lowndes Square, and Other Stories


Please wait while flipbook is loading. For more related info, FAQs and issues please refer to DearFlip WordPress Flipbook Plugin Help documentation.

[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text]The Countess of Lowndes Square, and Other Stories[/vc_column_text][vc_column_text]

The Countess of Lowndes Square, and Other Stories”

is a collection of short stories written by E. F. Benson, first published in 1920. The book contains a variety of tales, ranging from supernatural horror to romantic comedy, and showcases Benson’s skill at creating memorable characters and evocative settings.

The title story, “The Countess of Lowndes Square,” is a macabre tale of a young woman who moves into a new apartment in London, only to find that her new home is haunted by the ghost of the former occupant, a notorious Countess who died under mysterious circumstances. As the young woman begins to investigate the history of the apartment and the strange events that have taken place there, she becomes increasingly entangled in a web of deceit and danger.

Another story, “The Other Bed,” tells the tale of a woman who discovers that her husband has been leading a double life and keeping a mistress in a nearby apartment. As she becomes increasingly obsessed with the idea of revenge, she begins to experience a series of strange and unsettling events that suggest that her husband’s mistress may be more than just a mortal woman.

In “Mrs. Amworth,” Benson explores the classic vampire trope, as a small English village is terrorized by a mysterious woman who seems to be draining the life force from its inhabitants. As the villagers begin to suspect that the woman may be a vampire, they must confront their own fears and prejudices in order to rid themselves of the threat.

Other stories in the collection range from romantic comedies, such as “The Room in the Tower” and “Caterpillars,” to supernatural horror tales, such as “The Face” and “The Step.” Each story showcases Benson’s ability to create memorable characters and vivid settings, and to blend elements of horror, comedy, and romance into a seamless and engaging narrative.

One of the key themes that runs throughout the collection is the idea of the uncanny, or the sense of something being not quite right or unsettlingly familiar. Many of Benson’s stories feature characters who are confronted with strange or inexplicable events that challenge their understanding of the world around them. In “The Face,” for example, a man becomes convinced that he is being followed by a mysterious and sinister figure, while in “The Other Bed,” a woman begins to suspect that her husband’s mistress may be more than just a mortal woman.

Another important theme in the collection is the idea of the supernatural, and the ways in which it can intersect with the everyday world. Benson was fascinated by the occult and spiritualism, and many of his stories feature characters who are drawn into strange and otherworldly realms. In “The Room in the Tower,” for example, a man has a recurring dream in which he visits a mysterious tower and discovers a terrible secret, while in “Caterpillars,” a young woman becomes convinced that her lover has been possessed by the spirit of a dead woman.

Overall, “The Countess of Lowndes Square, and Other Stories” is a fascinating and engaging collection of short stories that showcase Benson’s skill at blending horror, comedy, and romance into a single narrative. His ability to create vivid and memorable characters, along with his gift for evoking the atmosphere of a particular time and place, make this book a must-read for fans of classic horror and suspense. Whether you are looking for tales of supernatural terror or romantic intrigue, Benson’s stories are sure to captivate and entertain.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *