The Wind in the Rose-Bush, and Other by Mary E. Wilkins

The Wind

Please wait while flipbook is loading. For more related info, FAQs and issues please refer to DearFlip WordPress Flipbook Plugin Help documentation.

The Wind in the Rose-Bush, and Other

“The Wind in the Rose-Bush, and Other”

is a collection of eerie and unsettling stories written by Mary E. Wilkins Freeman, an American writer who was born in Randolph, Massachusetts in 1852. The collection was originally published in 1903 and is considered to be one of Freeman’s most popular works.

The book is comprised of six stories, each of which is set in the small, rural communities of New England during the 19th century. Freeman’s writing style is characterized by her vivid descriptions of the natural world, her ability to capture the nuances of human behavior, and her talent for creating a sense of atmosphere and mood.

The first story in the collection, “The Shadows on the Wall,” is a haunting tale of a family who is haunted by the ghosts of their deceased siblings. The story is told from the perspective of the eldest sister, who is the only member of the family who can see the shadows of her dead siblings on the wall. The tension and suspense build as the family members try to figure out what is causing the shadows to appear and whether they are in danger.

The second story, “Luella Miller,” is a gripping account of a woman who seems to have a mysterious power over the people in her town. The protagonist, a nurse, becomes fascinated with Luella Miller’s ability to make people do her bidding, and as she delves deeper into the woman’s past, she discovers a dark secret that explains the strange power that Luella wields over those around her.

In “The Southwest Chamber,” a young woman is haunted by a ghostly figure that appears to her every night in her bedroom. The story is a masterful study of the human psyche, exploring the impact that fear and uncertainty can have on a person’s mental and emotional state.

“The Vacant Lot” is a poignant story of a woman who has lost everything she once held dear and is forced to start over. As she tries to rebuild her life, she becomes obsessed with a vacant lot near her home, believing that it holds the key to her future happiness. The story is a poignant reflection on the power of hope and the human spirit’s ability to persevere in the face of adversity.

In “The Twelfth Guest,” a group of friends gather for a dinner party, only to realize that there is an unexpected twelfth guest at the table. As the evening progresses, the guests become increasingly uneasy, and tensions rise as they try to figure out who the mysterious guest is and what his intentions might be.

The final story in the collection, “The Wind in the Rose-Bush,” is a haunting tale of a woman who is plagued by dreams of a ghostly figure that seems to be following her wherever she goes. As the story unfolds, the protagonist is forced to confront her deepest fears and come to terms with the reality of the situation.

Overall, “The Wind in the Rose-Bush, and Other” is a chilling and captivating collection of stories that showcases Freeman’s mastery of the short story form. Each story is carefully crafted to create a sense of unease and suspense, and the vivid descriptions of the natural world serve to heighten the atmospheric tension. The book is a must-read for anyone who loves the horror and suspense genre and is sure to leave readers feeling both exhilarated and unsettled.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *